2018 baseball schedule features some new opponents, old rivalries

This week, Illinois Baseball has announced its 2018 schedule.  If you take a look at the schedule on FightingIllini.com, you’ll notice something a little different in the schedule layout.  The interns at the baseball program have added a quick note about each game, 

The season starts on February 16 against Lamar.  The next weekend, the Illini will be tested against 2016 National Champion Coastal Carolina.  The home opener will be against Milwaukee on March 14.  The Big Ten season begins against Northwestern on March 23rd and the Big Ten home opener occurs on March 30 when Illinois hosts Iowa for three games. 

Which Big Ten teams will Illinois play in conference season? 

  • Northwestern Wildcats (A)
  • Iowa Hawkeyes (H)
  • Maryland Terrapins (A)
  • Rutgers Scarlet Knights (H)
  • Indiana Hoosiers (A)
  • Ohio State Buckeyes (H)
  • Nebraska Cornhuskers (H)

Note: Illinois will play one game against Michigan State which will not count towards conference standings.

All told, the schedule includes a total of 51 games including six new opponents.  Illinois will face Texas Southern, Virginia Commonwealth, Arizona, Presbyterian, Cal State Northridge, Grand Canyon for the very first time. 

First things first though.  Illinois has scheduled two exhibition games this fall.  This Saturday, Illinois takes on Illinois-Springfield at Illinois Field at 11am.  On September 23, Illinois will host Indiana State at 12:15.  The games are free to all fans. 

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *